Checking In: Mid Summer

Yikes!  The weeks have just slid by this summer, and I have really neglected my little corner of the Internet universe.  What have I been doing?

Well, I’ve been focusing my writing energy on a novella that is currently with my copy editor.  Once I get it back from her, I will make the final revisions before I submit it to a publisher.  What?  Miss I’m Going to Self-Publish is going traditional? Not completely.  After having some very enlightening conversations with some seasoned indie writers, I have discovered that doing things on your own isn’t exactly free.  So, I decided to see what I can do with the traditional route first.  Who knows, maybe I will be the next Hugh Howey hybrid.  I just want to get my stories out into the world, and there is no one “correct” path to make that happen.  What is right for one writer today, may not be the way for her the next time around.  I’m leaving my options open.

When I haven’t been writing, I have been doing plenty of summer reading.  This afternoon I finished All the Summer Girls by Meg Donohue.  I can’t begin to say how much I loved this book.  Each of the characters resonated with some part of me.  Add that to the ideal beach setting, and voila, awesome summer read.  Pick up a copy NOW!

My next book will be my advance reader copy of Possession by J. Elizabeth Hill.  It is the sequel to her debut novel, Bound.  You can read my review of Bound here. Watch for my thoughts on Possession on Good Reads and later on back here at Kayla Dawn Writes.  I have an extra special surprise for my followers coming in later August.

My summer hasn’t been all about my literary endeavors.  My daughter, C, and I have enjoyed some hot afternoons at the city pool and lazy days in front of a box fan.  She learned to play Monopoly this summer and is quite the real estate tycoon.  There have been play dates, workouts, and a lemonade stand.  She keeps me hopping.  I’ve also had some good times with my adult friends and cold beverages.  If you haven’t put your feet up with a chilled Sauvignon Blanc, I encourage you to do so.  In my opinion there is nothing better on hot summer day.

Hope you all are having a great summer.  You can follow me on Facebook or on Twitter.  I update those places much more frequently.  Feel free to let me know what you are up to!  Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Checking In: Mid Summer

Leave a Reply

