The Witness by Nora Roberts

Nora Roberts is one of my long time favorite authors.  She is consistently good and prolific.  The Witness, in my humble opinion, is one of her best works.  There is action, suspense, and just the right amount of romance to satisfy my tender heart.

Elizabeth Fitch witnesses the murder of her new friend and a man they met during an underage excursion to a nightclub.  The killers: The Russian Mafia.  And now they are after her.  She does the right thing and goes to the police, but even U.S. Marshalls are unable to keep her safe.  So, Elizabeth runs for it.  Did I mention that Elizabeth is unnaturally smart?  No one with a regular IQ could have survived like Elizabeth.

After twelve years of running, she settles on the outskirts of a small Ozark town.  The imagery for Elizabeth’s (now Abigail) cabin in the woods is pure magic.  I spent most of my childhood summers in the mountains of Idaho, so I have soft spot for those settings.  I was ready to move right in with Abigail.

Things were going perfectly for Abigail until she meets the town’s Chief of Police, Brooks Gleason.  He teaches her to love and trust.  When she finally reveals her true identity, he guides her to real freedom.

I have to confess, my word count this last week has suffered because of this book.  All I wanted to do was read.  The characters were unique and real.  I practically held my breath through it waiting for the bad guys to jump out of the trees guns roaring.

At the same time, I was studying Roberts’ style.  I’m not sure if I’m just more aware of how authors do things these days, or if her flow was a bit different in this book.  Either way, it informed and inspired my writing.

So, now that I’m finished I have no excuses for not getting my work done…at least until I start re-reading Harry Potter and The Goblet of Fire.  October is always Harry Potter month for me.  Look out Hogwarts, here I come!

Leave a Reply

