Freedom to Write

We’ve all hear the saying, “We make plans and God laughs.”  I know I’ve treated God to a lot of giggles over the course of my life as a planning addict.  Someone has to keep Him entertained up there right?

A few weeks ago I blogged about not taking days off from writing and shared my current goals.  Then life started happening, and I had to rearrange my life a bit to help some friends.  Usually I get frustrated about how things are not working out for me.  This time around, I gained some perspective.

I’m sure some of this wisdom has come from my reading of The Untethered Soul by Michael A. Singer, which teaches the reader how to stay present and centered on what is going on around her.  I’m learning (slowly) now to allow myself to be swept up in the crazy of the world around me, to anchor myself in what is real and true, and see how I fit in.

I have been blessed with the gift of time.  Time to pursue my passion (writing), and time to be available to help those in need.  This last week the call has been to reach out to others.  Yes, this slowed my work on my novel, but in a way it has been a gift.  I’ve been forced to stand back and be grateful for the hand I’ve been dealt at this moment in time.

I also began re-evaluating my goals for my work.  This doesn’t mean I’m backing off or stopping.  I’m just getting more creative with my time and giving myself grace for days that don’t go according to my plan.  Leo Babauta over at Zen Habits wrote an article about working without goals a while back.  At the time, I could never see myself doing that.  It was much too loosey goosey for my structured personality.  I was pretty sure I’d never accomplish anything.

What seemed like a blow to the perfect little schedule and my pretty list of goals, turned out to be the teaching moment I needed.  I love my work, and because it feeds me (hee hee, not financially yet), it will get done.  I’m drawn to my desk each and every day.  That in and of itself will get the work done.   Removing the pressure of goals has actually freed up more space in my mind for creativity.  I had a huge day last week where I wrote just under 2,000 words in one session (a personal best) and crossed the 30K mark in my WIP.  Because I wasn’t stressing the numbers and the clock, I was free to just write.

My writing has value to me and others.  It’s not something I have to plan to do or justify doing.  It’s just something I do.  It’s part of who I am.  I haven’t always been able to say those words.  They are life giving to me right now.

Is there something in your life–a passion–you feel you don’t have time for, or have to justify devoting time to it?  How can you allow yourself to embrace it and let it nourish you?

7 thoughts on “Freedom to Write

  1. Great post Kayla. I’ve been working to not let the crazies take over my mind when things do not go as planned. all things happen in their appointed time.

  2. hmm…may have to read that book! I craved structure as a child and now I find myself steering clear of it. My blog is the writing that I am drawn to. I don’t need to work up motivation…I just like doing it. Even while it’s not profitable, I too find it rewarding. 🙂

  3. Oh God, it is so easy to get derailed from writing plans! And I’ve learned if I focus on the derailment I have a hard time getting back to it. But if I stay present and focus on what I have done–even if it is reading over the work–it is much easier to get back to it. Great post.

  4. Lovely post, to me writing is something I always feel a bit silly for. Not because I don’t think it’s valid — I very much think it is, books and music are all I’ve ever loved (aside from people, obviously!)– but because I feel foolish for thinking I could possibly write something worth reading. And being a mother to a two year old boy, staying at home while my partner works, I feel guilty spending hours on my laptop making stuff up.
    So, yeah, I struggle with my need/want to write. And I often forsake writing because I can’t ‘justify’ the time it takes.
    I am learning to make time for it though, and trying to get my partner to take it seriously, it’s an uphill climb, but I am getting there.
    It makes me feel less alone knowing I’m not the only one who worries about this type of thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

