Quick Check-In: Some Firsts

Hello, friends!  Popping in real quick to say I’ve been buried in finishing the first draft of Swept Up.  Whoops!  There it is…the title of my first novel.  I’m hoping the first draft will be complete by November 25, then it will be time to crawl into the infamous revision cave.  I hit 50,000 words on Tuesday and had a mini celebration before I plowed forward toward the real finish line.

One of the tools I’m using to keep my momentum going is NaNoWriMo.  I mentioned this a few posts back, but at the time I wasn’t planning to participate.  Shortly afterward, Stefan Bolz asked me to be one of his writing buddies during NaNo.  His invitation felt like such an honor, I hated to pass it up.  The opportunity to work alongside authors who have done exactly what I’m doing made me a little giddy–I’m less giddy now that we’re all in the trenches working away.  Knowing I didn’t want to start something new when I was so close to finishing Swept Up (hee, hee, I said it again), I decided to participate as a rebel.  Turns out a lot of people do.  Anyway, committing to NaNo got me intensely focused.  I figured out how many words per day I needed to write in order to hit my target of 65,000.  The answer was 870.  So, since November 1, no matter what is going on, at some point I sit my butt down and churn out my requirement plus some.  I don’t know if the story will play out at exactly 65,000, but it’s good to have a general goal.  Stay tuned for more progress updates.

I had another first last week: my first blog interview!  Elayne Griffith was kind enough to invite me into her blog space to answer a few questions.  Thanks for the opportunity, Elayne!

Yesterday brought a really fun first, but I will reveal that later…  So, for now, it’s back to Scrivener and the final words of Swept Up.

Leave a Reply

