Sending Out My Baby and What’s Next

I finished the first draft of Swept Up about a month ago.  Then I dove right into the editing process.  Some people call this entering the revision cave.  I’d hoped to have first round edits complete by December 1, but with Thanksgiving and other life crazies it took me an extra ten days.   The process was intense, but very satisfying.  I got to know my characters on a whole new level and the story really fleshed out.   Last night I pressed send releasing my baby to seven trusted beta readers.  Now I wait while they decide if this piece has what it takes to fly.

Releasing my manuscript doesn’t mean I’m just sitting around the house waiting to hear back from my readers.  I have a whole list of writerly things to do.  I’m in the process of putting together an interview with my editor, Angi Black.  I can’t wait for you all to meet her.  She hasn’t even seen my manuscript yet, but she’s already become a cheerleader/therapist as I go through this process for the first time.  I also have a holiday themed Quick Fix Story rattling around in my head, so stay tuned for that.

In between making my own words, I’m planning to settle in with some Christmas stories.  At the moment, I have Shanna Hatfield’s Christmas Cowboy queued up on my kindle.  Debbie Macomber’s Starry Night: A Christmas Novel is on deck.  I hope you all take some time to pour a glass of wine or hot chocolate, snuggle in a warm blanket, and read a good book during this cozy season.

 

2 thoughts on “Sending Out My Baby and What’s Next

Leave a Reply

