Awkward

Swept Up is done-I think.  There’s the awkward right there:  I think it’s done.  The beta readers have spoken.  They love it, there were just a couple parts that needed some fleshing out.  I’ve fleshed, reworked, and smoothed the rough spots.  Now it’s just sitting in my computer waiting to make it’s way into my editor’s hands.  Meanwhile I should move on…

I started drafting my second novel in early December.  I love this project, I think about it all the time, but for some reason I’m unable to really dig in.  You see, I’m a finisher.   I don’t start a new book until the last page has been turned in the one I’m currently reading.  This seems to be carrying over into my writing.  Swept Up is as done as it can be right now, but it’s not OUT THERE yet.  I worry I should be doing something with it, checking it one more time to make sure it’s the absolute best it can be before Angi sees it.  However, I’m in that dicey place where too much tinkering will wreck it.  I stress about if I get involved in my new manuscript, I will overlook something in my first one.  So, I will just sit here and be awkward for a couple more weeks, putting words in my journal, reading, praying that Swept Up is as awesome as I think it is.

5 thoughts on “Awkward

  1. I agree with the idea of taking a break. The rest is as important as the work (at least that’s what they say in my yoga classes) and I suppose it’s true. We couldn’t keep going if we didn’t rest. Not forever. So if this is a natural space for rest, then maybe it’s meant to be. I’m so excited for you! If you need inspiration for resting, reread some of Courtney’s posts about doing nothing and tinkering. 🙂 loved that one!

    • I forgot about that post! It was a good one. Thanks! I think the break has been doing me good. I’ve continued to write every day, but it hasn’t been work on the new novel except some notes. Although this morning, the urge is starting to come back. Will follow where it leads.

Leave a comment